Four Performances From The One & Only Concert By The New Basement Tapes Now Available On Vevo

Elvis Costello, Rhiannon Giddens, Taylor Goldsmith, Jim James & Marcus
Mumford Banded Together For One Night In November at L.A.’s Ricardo Montalban Theatre

Four live performances by The New Basement Tapes – Elvis Costello,
Rhiannon Giddens (Carolina Chocolate Drops), Taylor Goldsmith (Dawes),
Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Marcus Mumford (Mumford & Sons) – are
being released on Vevo. The performances were captured by
director Marcus Haney at the band’s one-and-only concert performance in
November at the Ricardo Montalban Theatre in Los Angeles. The four
performances are:

“Down On The Bottom”

“Florida Key”

“Spanish Mary”

“Golden Tom – Silver Judas”     


Reenergized by their reunion for numerous media appearances
eight-months after recording the Lost On The River: The New Basement
Tapes album, Costello, Giddens, Goldsmith, James and Mumford rehearsed
more than 20 songs over two days and decided to perform one full concert
for fans and invited guests. This historic performance came together on
24-hours’ notice and the result was a two-hour plus show that included
special appearances from Haim and Johnny Depp, both of whom guested on
the studio album. The release of the four concert clips follows the
November release and success of the album, produced by T Bone

The multimedia project was founded on a treasure trove of recently
discovered lyrics handwritten by Bob Dylan in 1967 during the period
that generated the recording of his original Basement Tapes. Embracing
an extraordinary opportunity to collaborate with the 26-year old Bob
Dylan, Burnett and the artists – dubbing their collective The New
Basement Tapes – convened in March at Capitol Studios in Hollywood to
write and create music together for the long-lost Dylan lyrics. Dozens
of new songs were completed and recorded by The New Basement Tapes
during a two-week period, with the artists swapping instrumental and
vocal roles on the tracks throughout the marathon sessions. The album
is available at all physical and digital music retailers, including -

Amazon CD:


Bob Dylan’s original Basement Tapes have fascinated and enticed
successive generations of musicians, fans and cultural critics for
nearly five decades. More than a hundred songs were recorded by Dylan
and musicians who later became The Band in the basement of a small house
in upstate New York in the summer and fall of 1967, including many Bob
Dylan future classics such as, “I Shall Be Released,” “The Mighty
Quinn,” “This Wheel’s On Fire,” “You Ain’t Going Nowhere” and “Tears Of

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes is a music event 47 years
in the making. The album celebrates the discovery of never-seen Bob
Dylan lyrics from that legendary 1967 period and marks a creative
highpoint for the album’s participants - Burnett, Costello, Giddens,
Goldsmith, James and Mumford – who have brought them to life nearly 50
years later. As Burnett explains, “What transpired during those two
weeks was amazing for all of us. There was a deep well of generosity and
support in the studio at all times, which reflected the tremendous trust
and generosity shown by Bob in sharing these lyrics with us in the first