• All
  • 0-9
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z

View Type

The Return Of The Spectacular Spinning Songbook

April 2012



Elvis Costello & The Imposters: The Return Of The Spectacular Spinning Songbook.

Recorded at The Wiltern in Los Angeles on May 12, 2011 including a special guest appearance by The Bangles. The DVD contains bonus footage including an alternate intro by Napoleon Dynamite and behind-the-scenes moments captured with the Imposters— Steve Nieve (keyboards), Pete Thomas (drums), and Davey Faragher (bass)— as well as extra performances not included in the main set of the show.

“The Spectacular Spinning Songbook” made its first appearance in 1986 at the Beverly Theatre in Los Angeles during the “Costello Sings Again Tour.”Last year, Elvis Costello and the Imposters set out on The Revolver Tour and, for the first time in 25 years, Costello once again allowed his set-list to be chosen by "The Spectacular Spinning Songbook,” a monumental game-show type wheel spun by select fans and featuring songs from his latest critically acclaimed release National Ransom, plus new renditions of hits, rarities and very unexpected covers. Expanded from its initial short run in the spring to encompass summer and fall dates,the tour was greeted by popular acclaim and rave notice across the country, with Rolling Stone reporting, “Costello worked the stage like a burlesque-club emcee, cracking wise at a mile a minute and spinning a dandy's walking stick.”

The Film   
•    I Hope You’re Happy Now    
•    Heart Of The City      
•    Mystery Dance    
•    Radio Radio    
•    Clubland    
•    God Give Me Strength    
•    Tear Off Your Own Head (It’s A Doll Revolution) featuring Susanna
Hoffs of The Bangles    
•    Out Of Time     
•    I Want You    
•    Everyday I Write The Book    
•    Stella Hurt    
•    A Slow Drag With Josephine     
•    Jimmie Standing In The Rain
•    Alison    
•    Earthbound    
•    (What’s So Funny ‘Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding

Bonus Tracks   
•    Uncomplicated    
•    Watching The Detectives    
•    Monkey To Man

Filmed Live at The Wiltern, Los Angeles, CA, May 12, 2011